and we were dancing, dancing like we’re made of starlight

(The title is unrelated. I’ve been listening to Taylor Swift’s Starlight for a long time now and I like that line.)

Anyway. I hit 50K! I didn’t write at all yesterday & then did 8K today so I’ve officially “won”. I’m… roughly halfway through? Probably? I honestly have no idea. I have too many viewpoint characters and too much that I want to do with this and each of those characters. Maybe it’ll end up being 150K instead (hopefully, hopefully not, I want to wrap this up this month and get onto the next book which is about totally different characters).

I don’t have too much to say. I got a wrist brace which has been helping a lot. It’s midnight-ish and I think I might finish the chapter I’m on, about a thousand more words, and go to bed before one. Tomorrow I’m starting my reread of Dune which is going to be great. Man, I love that book.

Yes! 50K, though! I’m really pleased. 🙂

4 thoughts on “and we were dancing, dancing like we’re made of starlight

  1. Hey 🙂 I saw a couple of posts of yours on the NaNo forums and I was shocked to see your winning wordcount that I had to check out a bit of your blog. It’s fascinating reading, especially as a good day for me is 2.5k.

    You probably get this a lot, but I’m very curious as to how on earth you write so fast? 🙂

    • Aw, thank you! 🙂 I write roughly 1K every fifteen minutes on a good day and I just do lots of small sessions. I plan a lot in advance–I have sort of detailed outlines so I don’t wonder what’s going to happen next, I can just write. And my wrists didn’t complain last November which was really lucky.

      I’m also super competitive with myself to an absurd degree which just motivated me more.

      • Ha ha! I can do 600 in 10 mins using Write or Die, but since so much of what I come out with when I write fast like that is nearly unsalvageable, I don’t really bother too often.

        Detailed outlines sound kind of relaxing and awesome–I personally switch between plotting and pantsing (I haven’t properly plotted anything for a while actually, but am doing Rachel Aaron’s method (here – thisblogisaploy.blogspot.com.au/2011/06/how-i-went-from-writing-2000-words-day.html) and I have to say, writing has been a hell of a lot easier this time around. It generally is with a plan, I find, but I tend to shy away from planning because I love the feeling of figuring something out halfway through the novel.

        Only it doesn’t help when you get stuck and don’t quite know what direction you’re going in next! :/ I’m about to give up my no-plotting thing and go and plot the hell out of my oldest, most stubbornest work–in August, I think.

        How long does it take you to do up a plot, world, characters, etc?

  2. I really like that feeling of discovery, too! I try to outline in a manner that leaves room for that–I know that war has to be declared in chapter seventeen but I don’t necessarily know that the queen’s response to that is going to be to become more ruthless within her country than ever. And I have an entire plot line that I didn’t plan for and am just going with, which is fun.

    Overall? Huh. I could probably do something in a week if I put my mind to it but I never want to put my mind to it. This plot in particular is a terrible example because I’ve been working on this in one form or another for a few years. It varies, really, with how involved I want to get and whether it’s general fiction or fantasy/sci-fi.

Leave a Reply

