Circuit, take three.

I haven’t updated this in… what, two years? Oh, well. Life got in the way, I got another blog, I gave up on that as well. Perhaps this will be updated more often now; we’ll see. I’m not going to make promises because those never seem to work. Hopeful thoughts, more like.

Anyhow. I’ve been doing JulNoWriMo this month. It’s day three and I’m at roughly 11,000 words. This is my third time writing this novel – I’ve reworked the plot so much that it’s only recognizable as the same novel by the barest plot (war over water leads a group of survivors to flee to a new planet). I’ve been jokingly calling it a “feminist manifesto disguised as a sci-fi political thriller” because the entire idea of this draft stemmed from the line you could be the king but watch the queen conquer, from Nicki Minaj’s verse of Monster. Essentially, all of the people in power are women.

It’s interesting writing this because I’m trying very hard to put women in important roles, and men in the lesser roles. Not so much that it comes off as forced, hopefully. For example – I had a scene at a doctor’s office, and one of the characters was a receptionist. My go-to thought was a woman because that’s usually the gender you see as the “receptionist” or “secretary” in fiction nowadays but in making it a man it made the scene feel different to me.

Anyway. Perhaps that didn’t make sense. Essentially: in a surprise to no one, I’m thinking a lot about gender while writing the novel that will never be done (as I’ve been affectionately calling it).

I’m going really slowly writing this one. Well, slowly for me. I could do 10K a day if I wanted to, have another draft banged out really quickly, but to be honest I’m sick of entire rewrites. I’m trying not to burn myself out on this, to think about character motivations and how to resolve scenes other than “this is easiest! do that!”. It’s a lot of fun for me but it’s also really difficult; I’m not used to writing in this way. (I did 50K weekend two years ago and while it was fun, most of the writing is not salvageable.) Instead of writing in bursts and then quitting for months, I want to get myself back on track writing every day, even if it’s only 500 words before I go to sleep.

I suppose this is enough procrastination. In the time of writing this I’ve watched four YouTube videos and written two words on the actual novel. There will probably be more posts over the month, most of which will be about this novel (or the other stories I’m working on in between). 🙂 

Leave a Reply

