50K!

So last night, at the beginning of the evening, I had 45K. It was 8:45 at night; I have an hour every night, to go on the computer, from 9-10.

“Five thousand more?” I asked myself. “I have an hour and fifteen minutes, if I can convince Mom to let me go on the computer now. I’ll do it!”

Of course, this was me forgetting that my personal best was 4K/hour.

So I opened Write or Die at around 8:50, fingers ready to go.

One thousand words later, I was tiring, but in no way giving up.

Another thousand passed. I was tiring more, my eyes blurring.

And then after another five hundred, I was about to die.

I stopped my session of WoD (found http://writeordie.drwicked.com/ here for anyone interested) and went to the bathroom.

I had done half. It was 9:15. Could I do another 2.5K?

I won’t bore you with the rest of the details, and I’m a bit ashamed to say that the reason I got there was partly because of… naughty scenes. They fit with the plot, and weren’t graphic, but still.

 

For all intents and purposes… I won. I got 50K in eight days, five better than my last NaNo’s (not to be confused with my crazy JulNo record).

My hands were shaking, the prose was awful, and I wanted to curl up into a ball, but nothing will beat that feeling of accomplishment that I felt. I could only grin. I had won.

I have won.

However, my plot isn’t over yet. I’m going to try to get another 50K this month, which is going to be at a slower pace; I have 21 days in which to do it. I’m hoping the plot will wrap up around then, but I don’t think it will.

Ah, well. Either way… I’m proud of myself. (:

One thought on “50K!

  1. Wow. That is completely crazy!!!!
    Write or Die is my best friend. 🙂 Next to Michael (an imaginary friend) a handful of real friends (as in real people I should say), and Scotch Tape (an inanimate object. Shortened: Scotch.)
    Congratulations on getting 50K. Keep it up for 100!!!
    As for me, still working on getting to 50 but that is oh-kay!!
    Keep it up!
    ~Misha

Leave a Reply

