Well, since THAT got boring fast…

You all (is there a “you all”? Or is it just one loyal reader [the person who’s house I’m at currently]?) get to read more of my ramblings.

Except that I have nothing to ramble about.

So I’ll talk about what I know best:

Writing.

I was reading a post on a forum done by a teenager (he/she will remain anonymous, as well as genderless, to keep an air of mystery about her/him, you see) and they were asking if they should try to get published, though they’re very young. (And, loyal reader, you have heard and read this story, so it is pointless to repeat it, but WHATEVER.) They said they were good for their age, and they wanted to be published.

The general response was “NO! Don’t try yet; write a few more years, wait, hone your craft, visit here and here, do this, that, and the other to prepare. Etc.”

Their response was, well, less than cordial, written in chatspeak, and riddled with improperly-placed jokes (I think they were jokes, anyway…), as well as being extremely rude to everyone. I wanted to backhand her, but that is SOCIALLY UNACCEPTABLE as well as impossible over the internet.

So I just sat there, kind of mad, until I stopped being mad, and then I wrote this, and now I feel stupid but I’m going to post it anyway.

It’s kind of a pointless story, kind of a pointless rant, but I thought it was really annoying and that since this is basically an “online journal”, I should write about it.

I think it’s bedtime. 😛

2 thoughts on “Well, since THAT got boring fast…

  1. I am a totally anonymous commenter, and MOST CERTAINLY not the “only loyal reader” mentioned in your post! That’s silly and I don’t even know where you got that idea I mean come on.

    I am here to tell you that I THINK YOU’RE NEAT. But I’m only saying that because I am your friend! …I mean because I am NOT your friend!

    And to tell you to SPICE UP the STORIES, because conceited 13-year-olds who need to grow up may be frustrating and fun to rant about, but come on, there are NOT NEARLY enough cartoon ducks to be relevant to my interests.

  2. Wow, talk about a downer. I don’t know your reference to the story above, but I can say that whoever told this person not to try to get published because they are a teenager should be slapped. Christopher Paolini, author of Eragon, was a teenager, and so was SE Hinton, author of The Outsiders. Experience is good, but natural talent will stick out every time. Experience comes with time and there’s no better time than the present. Ignore the Muggles!

    Gil

Leave a Reply

