My hair sparkles? Also, a rant.

So today, I was at the table, eating breakfast (peach pancakes, for the record, which aren’t all that great but they’re not terrible) and my stepdad goes, “Your hair sparkles in the sun.”

I had to cover my mouth to keep from laughing and making a Twilight reference. Which kind of sucks, because my hair does sparkle in the sun, because it’s suuuuuuuuuper red, but whenever I say that, people are going to be all “Your hair isn’t as pretty as Edward,” and I’ll say “Yes, I’m aware, I don’t like Edward,” and it’ll cause a huge fight.

Argh.

I’m not a Twilight fan, but I wish the animosity would just DIE DOWN ALREADY. You know what sucks?

Wait, I’ll tell a story first.

See, there are a lot of Twilight fans at my school. And usually, I just ignore them, but sometimes, I would say things like “I’m not a fan,” or “I don’t like it.” And then we’d get into a discussion, blah blah blah. It was totally cool.

Except one day, these girls were talking about Taylor Lautner, and this other girl goes, “Oh, my god. I hate Twilight so much. That stupid Mormon lady can’t write.”

Excuse me.

WHAT THE FUCK?

What on Earth does her religion have to do with the book series?! I don’t think she can write, but her Mormonism doesn’t have anything to do with that. Okay, so some of the values in the books are based on her own values, and I don’t really understand the religion myself, but really. When did we start hating her so much that we bring things like religion into it?

So now, I save the hate (even dislike) for home, or when I’m with my friends. At school, I just listen and stay quiet. I don’t want to be seen as one of those people, the crazy ones.

(Er, sorry about this. There’ll be a normal post sometime soon, I promise.)

One thought on “My hair sparkles? Also, a rant.

Leave a Reply

