A Sigh of Relief.

This doesn’t suck.

My world doesn’t suck. In my opinion (and this doesn’t happen often, mind you), it’s an interesting world, not all too cliche, and it’s possible that it’s good.

I told my stepdad about me trying a totally different genre, expecting to be shot down. He said:

“Jasmine, all writing is good writing. Who gives a shit if it sucks? There’s no way to become a worse writer; you can only get better.”

And it’s so true. I’ve been beating myself up, trying to make myself not want to write this, because I am a humor and horror writer, nothing more. But why can’t I try fantasy? So I’m not a huge fan; I’m not going to try to publish this, it doesn’t matter if it’s shitty. All I can do is write for myself.

And humor and horror aren’t really the closest of genres, are they? (;

I have a world created. I know the customs, and I know more than half of their history. I have weather patterns written down and how the entire world looks and works, along with all of the islands. I haven’t named any of them, sure. That’s the one thing I don’t have: names. I have 8 Gods, 8 countries, as many MCs as my story will allow/have, and 13 islands to name, as well as the planet itself.

But you know what? The names don’t matter yet. Right now, I’m planning, and who gives a damn if the two groups of people are the “Magicals” and the “Regulars”? There’s no effing way they’re going to stay that way, but I’ll think of that later. Right now, I’m making up worlds and plans and customs and people and spells and climates and all the good stuff, and I like it.

It’s a sigh of relief. I don’t feel like I’m wasting my time. (:

One thought on “A Sigh of Relief.

  1. Jasmine,
    I applaud what you’re doing. Don’t feel like you’re doing something wrong or blasphemous by writing in a genre you don’t like, as a rule. By doing this, you may well bring a fresh viewpoint to it. That’s what JK Rawling did with Harry Potter and what Anne Rice did with her then new take on vampires. In reality, it’s not that big a step from horror to fantasy, and many dark fantasies easily qualify as horror. I like your idea, keep developing it and believe in yourself.

    Gil

    P.S. I discovered this through my daughter, Jesi Marie. If you’ll look at my blog, you’ll see I’m a writer too, hot some Internet predator.

Leave a Reply

