Damn Fantasy.

Wow, the title sounds much dirtier than how I mean it.

Lemme explain.

I am not a fantasy/sci-fi fan. At all. I’ve read Hitchhikers’ Guide to the Galaxy, and I breathe Harry Potter, but that is the extent of the fantasy/sci-fi that I’ve read and enjoyed. I tried Eragon and the sequels; it bored me nearly to tears. (I’m not including vampire stories in ‘fantasy’, as they’ve basically become mainstream fiction, god damn them.) I just don’t find it appealing, separate worlds. Again, other than HP, though I think that may have something to do with the fact that I started that when I was little. I’ve been meaning to read Lord of the Rings, if only to say I’d read it, but I can’t for the life of me get into it.

So of course my brain cooks up a fantasy story idea for me. Of fkkn course.

Suffice to say, it’s real fantasy. As in, taking out the ‘fantasy’ elements would not work at all, because that’s what the entire plot is centered around.

Argh. I really want to write this one. I like it so far. I have a world in my head. But I don’t like fantasy. Can I write it?

Since I have no real willpower or control over what I write, I suppose a good answer would be: We’ll see. I’ll be back when I’ve got a few chapters outlined and/or written, to see if I want to continue it. (:

Laters.

One thought on “Damn Fantasy.

  1. Hahaha, the title does sound dirty. I probably wouldn’t have caught it if you hadn’t mentioned it.

    Well, I suppose you can write fantasy, even if you don’t like it, because I find it quite enjoyable. It’s like you rule that little world you create, which I admit, it an awesome feeling ^_^

    Good luck writing,

    – Marilou ❤

Leave a Reply

